Sweet Dreams, the Sequel

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s that time of year again, when I am invited into the home of one of my families to read bedtime stories to their children, as part of our school’s silent auction fundraiser. Last year I chose a chapter book that would work with siblings of kindergarten and third grade age.

This year (also with K and 3rd grade sibs), I opted for a favorite new picture book, The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers. I carefully wrapped the book (along with two other books chosen for each individual child) and presented it to brother and sister when I arrived at their house, along with the milk and cookies of course. There was quite a reaction when it was unwrapped, even more excited than I expected. Clearly I had hit upon the perfect choice as big sister ran into the other room and brought out the same book which she had borrowed from the library in hopes that I would read it to them! As expected the read aloud was a huge success! I was given such a warm welcome that I offered to read some more, so the kids scurried off to their rooms to bring back two favorites of theirs–Stop that Pickle (which I got quite a kick out of) and The Lady with the Alligator Purse (a burst of nostalgia for me).

The following day I received a lovely thank you note for my visit.

What was missing, I realized, was a thank you from me to them–for their gracious hospitality, for sharing their children, for supporting our school, for making books and reading a priority. May this post be a thank you to this family and all the families at Peaslee School who support the library, literacy and believe in the power of books.

 

Leave a Reply

