Half-full and Rose-colored Glasses (and teachers when you need them)

Disclaimer—if you are here to read about libraries, education and children’s literature, (the usual stuff of this blog), you might want to reconsider. This is yet another navel-gazing reflection on my life, brought about by my participation in the #nerdlution movement. I promise this will be the last post on the topic, until perhaps January 20th when this 50-day challenge ends.

I’ve written previously about acknowledging failure as a tool for learning. Today’s focus–the water level in my drinking glass and the color of my spectacles. In other words, I’ll be taking a look at my particular reality and how one can frame one’s outlook on life. I can proudly say that because of #nerdlution, my glass is just a little more than half-full and my world looks pretty darn rosy.

I’ve been thinking about the concept of reality a lot lately.

Spending long hours in hospital waiting rooms (family member, minor procedure, all is well) exposed me to a “surreality” of suspended time. Day runs into night runs into day. Endless strangers come and go. Life’s daily routines are sidelined.

Holiday “hustle-bustle, cook, bake, clean, repeat” presented yet another version of reality, far more joyous, but equally separate from Standard Time. Meals eaten at unconventional hours. Dishwasher running nonstop. Family coming and going.

Events such as these can (and did) interrupt my 50-day commitment to meditate, write and exercise regularly. I could have easily fallen into the trap of castigating myself for failing to live up to my self-established goals.

And yet, because I feel sustained by the Twitter community that created this commitment and because I believe in the redemptive power of the restart button, I am buoyed, not disappointed, by my current reality.

Used under Creative Commons License-Photo by Akuppa John Wigham

Used under Creative Commons License-Photo by Akuppa John Wigham

There is a Buddhist saying, “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.” The teacher appeared yesterday morning in the form of my yoga teacher, Pat Lebau, who read the story of Krishna, Sudama and the desire to experience “maya”. Maya, according to Merriam-Webster is the Hindu belief of a “powerful force that creates the cosmic illusion that the phenomenal world is real.” I do not claim to completely understand this concept, but I would like to think that if life is an illusion, why couldn’t it be the illusion of my own making? Why not wear rose-colored glasses and drink from a half-full cup?

We are past the #nerdlution halfway point and I haven’t kept up with my resolutions as measured by the letter of the #nerdlution law. But, by the spirit of the law, I am a rose-colored success.

I have reestablished my meditative practice. I have written and published 6 posts in December (second highest monthly production since I started blogging). And I have exercised considerably more than I would have if I hadn’t joined this community of self-improvement. More importantly I am doing significant work at quieting the Inner Critic, that busybody of a kvetcher who kibitzes, disparages and belittles my work and deeds.

Photograph by author

Photograph by author

The rosy fingers of dusk signal the beginning of the end of another day. Time to drink up to this wonderful life! L’Chaim!

Leave a Reply

