Now and Then

Better late than never, I join the World Read Aloud Day Blog Tour by following the instructions below, taken from their website.

Week 2: Now & Then

Answer the following questions twice. First, from your ten-year-old self’s perspective and then from your current perspective.

My 10-year old response will be in italics and my current self will appear in bold.

1. I think everyone in the world should read…

I wanted to answer From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, but apparently my memory is playing tricks on me because it wasn’t published until the year of my 11th birthday. So, I’ll go with A Wrinkle in Time, a book that transported me through time and space and let me believe that anything is possible.

My ten-year old self was transported in time and space.

My ten-year old self was transported in time and space.

I would like to just end this prompt right here (with an exclamation point instead of an ellipsis). I think everyone in the world SHOULD read! But, in the spirit of the game, I think everyone in the world should read Wonder by R. J. Palacio and then should “Choose Kind”. You’ll probably see this on a lot of other “Then and Now” responses.

Choose kind.

Choose kind.

2. If I could listen to anyone in the world read aloud to me it would be…

…my mom. Listening to Winnie the Pooh and Wizard of Oz, read chapter by chapter as I ate my breakfast oatmeal was food for my soul.

…not technically a read-aloud, but I am as mesmerized as a child by the storytelling of Len Cabral.

3. When I read aloud, my favorite character to impersonate is…

I loved to read aloud to my much younger sister. One of my favorite things to read was the “voice” of the narrator, John, in Let’s Be Enemies by Janice May Udry. “I think I’ll put his crayons in the soup”

"James used to be my friend."

“James used to be my friend.”

…Granny in What! Cried Granny (by Kate Lum), Pa in Saving Sweetness by Diane Stanley, Wodney in Hooway for Wodney Wat by Helen Lester, and Baby Blair in Somebody and the Three Blairs by Marilyn Tolhurst. What? You didn’t really expect me to pick just one?


4. The genre that takes up the most room on my bookshelf is…

…fantasy

…realistic fiction

5. The last book I wish I’d written or inspired me to write my own story is…

the Childhood Biographies of Famous Americans

There was always one more to read at the library.

There was always one more to read at the library.

…The Book Whisperer

Leave a Reply

